Lawn care software: what fits, what it costs
Our rough rule of thumb: a solo mower can start on Yardbook’s free plan. Small crews that want routing and recurring visits in one app should compare Jobber, Housecall Pro and Service Autopilot. Landscaping companies that live on estimates should look at LMN.
Prices below come from each vendor’s own pages, checked October 23, 2026. We show regular prices. Jobber is running a new-customer discount until October 30, 2026, so we leave its promo prices out.
How to choose
- Do you run routes? Route optimization saves drive time on recurring mows. Check which plan includes it.
- Do rain days wreck your week? Look for a way to move many visits at once.
- Do you sell add-ons? Aeration, mulching and cleanups sell better as optional lines on a quote.
- How big are your crews? Plans limit users or mobile licenses.
- Do you estimate big landscape jobs? Estimating tools with labor and material calculators matter more there.
- Watch the extra fees. Some tools add sign-up fees, onboarding fees or a fee on online payments.
The options
Yardbook
Fits: solo operators who want to start free. Yardbook lists recurring scheduling, route optimization, estimates and invoices, but doesn’t say which are on the free plan.
Doesn’t fit: anyone who needs to know the full cost up front. Paid plan prices weren’t shown on the pages we could reach.
One limitation: free (Basic) accounts pay a 1% Yardbook fee on online payments, on top of Stripe’s fees. Paid plans waive it.
Price: free Basic plan. Paid plan prices weren’t shown on the pages we could reach, as of Oct 23, 2026.
Free or cheaper option: this is the free option.
Link: yardbook.com
Jobber
Fits: lawn businesses serving homeowners, HOAs or commercial clients that want route planning, recurring visits, rain-day rescheduling and quotes with add-ons.
Doesn’t fit: larger crews on the entry plan. Core covers 1 user, and extra users are $29/month each.
One limitation: the pages we checked don’t say which plan includes routing. QuickBooks Online sync starts on Connect.
Price: $29/month billed annually or $49 month to month (Core, 1 user), regular prices as of Oct 23, 2026. 14-day free trial of the Grow plan, no credit card required.
Free or cheaper option: Yardbook’s free plan.
Housecall Pro
Fits: lawn and landscaping businesses, from solo operators to big teams, that want recurring and seasonal visits, route optimization, online booking and auto-charging saved cards.
Doesn’t fit: a solo operator who needs QuickBooks sync but not the 5-user plan.
One limitation: QuickBooks starts on Essentials, not Basic.
Price: $59/month billed annually or $79 month to month (Basic, 1 user), as of Oct 23, 2026. 14-day free trial, no credit card required.
Free or cheaper option: Yardbook’s free plan.
Service Autopilot
Fits: lawn care, landscaping and snow removal businesses that want routing and automation as they grow.
Doesn’t fit: a business that wants routing on the entry plan. Route optimization starts on PRO.
One limitation: each plan adds a sign-up fee (the amount isn’t shown), and downgrades only take effect at the end of the contract.
Price: Startup $49/month, PRO $199/month, PRO PLUS $499/month, based on annual subscription rates. ELITE is quote only. As of Oct 23, 2026.
Free or cheaper option: Yardbook’s free plan.
LMN
Fits: landscaping companies that win work on detailed estimates, with crews that clock in on a mobile app.
Doesn’t fit: a solo mower. Plans start at $297/month and are aimed at teams.
One limitation: a one-time onboarding fee applies, and the amount isn’t shown. Starter allows one active budget.
Price: LMN Starter $297/month (for under 10 employees), LMN Professional $648/month (10+ employees), billed monthly, as of Oct 23, 2026. Enterprise is quote only.
Free or cheaper option: Jobber or Housecall Pro for smaller crews.
Link: granum.com/lmn/pricing
Side by side
| Yardbook | Jobber | Housecall Pro | Service Autopilot | LMN | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lowest listed price | $0 (Basic) | $29/mo billed annually (1 user) | $59/mo billed annually (1 user) | $49/mo (annual rates) | $297/mo |
| Free trial | Free plan | 14 days (Grow plan) | 14 days | Offered; length not stated | Not stated |
| Route optimization | Listed; plan not stated | Listed; plan not stated | Listed | PRO and up | Listed; plan not stated |
| Recurring visits | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Not stated |
| QuickBooks | Not stated | Connect and up | Essentials and up | Unclear by plan | QuickBooks Online from Starter |
| Extra fees | 1% on online payments (free plan) | None listed | None listed | Sign-up fee | Onboarding fee |
| Pick this if… | You’re solo and want free | You want quotes, routes and rain-day moves in one app | You want online booking and auto-billing | You want routing and automation as you grow | You’re a landscaping company living on estimates |
Skip the software if…
You mow a small set of regular lawns on a fixed weekly loop and get paid without chasing. A calendar and a free invoicing app will do. Software earns its keep once routes get messy, rain days cost you a day of rescheduling, or you’re chasing payments.
What we haven’t tested
These are vendor-stated features and prices. We haven’t run these tools in a live lawn care business. Use the free plans and trials to run a real week of routes before you commit.
Questions
Is there free lawn care software?
Yardbook has a free Basic plan. Free accounts pay a 1% Yardbook fee on online payments, on top of Stripe’s fees.
Which lawn care software has route optimization?
Yardbook, Jobber, Housecall Pro, Service Autopilot and LMN all list routing. Service Autopilot puts it on PRO and up. The others’ pages we checked don’t say which plan includes it.
What’s best for a landscaping company?
If most of your work is estimated projects, LMN is built around estimating. It costs more than the others. For mostly recurring maintenance, compare Jobber, Housecall Pro and Service Autopilot.
Sources
- Yardbook — Home — checked Oct 23, 2026
- Jobber — Lawn care software — checked Oct 23, 2026
- Jobber — Pricing — checked Oct 23, 2026
- Housecall Pro — Lawn care software — checked Oct 23, 2026
- Housecall Pro — Pricing — checked Oct 23, 2026
- Service Autopilot — Pricing — checked Oct 23, 2026
- LMN (Granum) — Pricing — checked Oct 23, 2026