HVAC software: what fits, what it costs
Our rough rule of thumb: a small HVAC shop can start on Jobber or Housecall Pro, which publish prices. If maintenance agreements drive your business, check which plan includes them. Shops with an office team and many techs should also get ServiceTitan and FieldEdge quotes.
Prices below come from each vendor’s own pages, checked October 23, 2026. We show regular prices. Jobber is running a new-customer discount until October 30, 2026, and Housecall Pro shows intro offers. Those change often, so we leave them out.
How to choose
- Do maintenance agreements matter to you? Recurring tune-ups can be steady income. Check which plan includes service plans or agreements. It’s often not the cheapest one.
- Do you sell options on site? Good-better-best quotes help on replacements. Check whether the plan you’re looking at offers multi-option quotes.
- Do you offer financing? Some tools build in customer financing.
- Do you use QuickBooks? The entry plans of Jobber and Housecall Pro don’t include QuickBooks Online sync.
- How many techs need the mobile app? Plans limit users or mobile licenses.
- Can you see a price before a demo? Jobber and Housecall Pro publish prices. ServiceTitan and FieldEdge are quote only.
The options
Jobber
Fits: small HVAC shops that want quotes with optional line items, recurring maintenance visits, online booking and invoicing in one app.
Doesn’t fit: bigger teams on the entry plan. Core covers 1 user; extra users are $29/month each, and Plus ($399/month billed annually) includes 5.
One limitation: Core doesn’t include automated reminders or QuickBooks Online sync. They start on Connect.
Price: $29/month billed annually or $49 month to month (Core, 1 user), regular prices as of Oct 23, 2026. 14-day free trial of the Grow plan, no credit card required.
Free or cheaper option: Square Invoices (below) for estimates and invoices only.
Housecall Pro
Fits: HVAC shops that want residential or commercial service plans with auto-scheduled maintenance visits and automatic billing.
Doesn’t fit: a small shop that needs service agreements on a budget. Recurring service plans are listed only on the Max plan.
One limitation: QuickBooks Online sync starts on Essentials, and service plans need Max.
Price: $59/month billed annually or $79 month to month (Basic, 1 user). Max is $299/month billed annually or $329 month to month, with 8 users. As of Oct 23, 2026. 14-day free trial, no credit card required.
Free or cheaper option: Jobber Core if you don’t need service plans yet.
Link: housecallpro.com/pricing
ServiceTitan
Fits: residential, construction and commercial HVAC companies with an office team, a price book, maintenance agreements and financing.
Doesn’t fit: small shops that want a price up front. There’s no public price.
One limitation: quote only, priced per technician. The pricing page suggests membership tools sit on the top plan, The Works. Confirm with sales.
Price: quote only, as of Oct 23, 2026. Demo, no listed free trial.
Free or cheaper option: compare the quote against Jobber or Housecall Pro.
FieldEdge
Fits: small and mid-size HVAC companies that want a flat-rate price book, service agreements and QuickBooks sync on every plan.
Doesn’t fit: anyone who wants to try before talking to sales. FieldEdge says it doesn’t offer a free trial.
One limitation: the entry plan (Select) has single-option quotes. Multi-option quotes start on Premier.
Price: quote only, based on techs and add-ons, as of Oct 23, 2026. Free demo.
Free or cheaper option: Jobber or Housecall Pro publish their prices.
Link: fieldedge.com/pricing
Square Invoices
Fits: a solo HVAC tech who books by phone and mainly needs estimates, invoices and card payments.
Doesn’t fit: anyone who needs scheduling, maintenance agreements or a price book. Square’s invoices pricing page doesn’t list those.
One limitation: card fees on the free plan are 3.3% + 30¢ for online card payments on an invoice.
Price: free plan available. Plus is $20/month, as of Oct 23, 2026.
Free or cheaper option: this is the free option.
Side by side
| Jobber | Housecall Pro | ServiceTitan | FieldEdge | Square Invoices | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lowest listed price | $29/mo billed annually (1 user) | $59/mo billed annually (1 user) | Quote only | Quote only | $0 |
| Free trial | 14 days (Grow plan) | 14 days | Demo only | Demo only, no trial | Free plan |
| Maintenance agreements | Recurring maintenance listed; plan not stated | Max plan | Listed; confirm plan | All plans (basic on Select) | Not listed |
| QuickBooks | Connect and up | Essentials and up | QuickBooks Online and Desktop listed | All plans | Not listed |
| Financing | Listed (Wisetack) | Not stated on pages checked | Listed | Not stated | Not listed |
| Pick this if… | You want published prices and one app | You run service plans and can use Max | You have an office team and many techs | You want a flat-rate price book on every plan | You only need to quote and get paid |
Skip the software if…
You’re a one-person shop doing a handful of jobs a week, booked by phone, and you invoice without trouble. A calendar, a quote template and a free invoicing app will do. Software earns its keep once maintenance customers slip through the cracks or quotes go out late.
What we haven’t tested
These are vendor-stated features and prices. We haven’t run these tools in a live HVAC business. Use the free trial or demo to run a real week of jobs before you commit.
Questions
What’s the cheapest HVAC software?
Square Invoices has a free plan for estimates and invoices. For scheduling and quotes in one app, Jobber Core is $29/month billed annually, regular price as of Oct 23, 2026.
Which HVAC software handles maintenance agreements?
Housecall Pro lists recurring service plans on its Max plan. FieldEdge lists service agreements on all plans. ServiceTitan lists maintenance agreements; check the plan with sales. Jobber lists recurring maintenance visits but doesn’t say which plan.
Is ServiceTitan worth it for a small HVAC shop?
There’s no public price, so you’ll need a quote. Compare it against Jobber or Housecall Pro, which publish theirs.
Sources
- Jobber — Pricing — checked Oct 23, 2026
- Jobber — HVAC software — checked Oct 23, 2026
- Housecall Pro — Pricing — checked Oct 23, 2026
- Housecall Pro — HVAC service agreements — checked Oct 23, 2026
- ServiceTitan — HVAC software — checked Oct 23, 2026
- ServiceTitan — Pricing — checked Oct 23, 2026
- FieldEdge — Pricing — checked Oct 23, 2026
- FieldEdge — HVAC software — checked Oct 23, 2026
- Square — Invoices pricing — checked Oct 23, 2026